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The Ultimate Showdown Between Amazon, Alibaba, eBay and Tophatter

In our last post we introduced Tophatter, the up-and-coming ecommerce platform. In this post, we will take a deep dive into the four popular e-commerce marketplaces, and run a comparison of them for you.

In our ultimate showdown, our four contestants will compete with one another in these three categories: Products, User Experience and Growth.​

#1: Products

Amazon has sold 480 million products and made 130 billion gross revenue as of January 2017. Consumers can pretty much search and find most of the things they are looking for on Amazon.

Founded in China, Alibaba is the largest international ecommerce platform boasting 270 billion gross sales as of 2016. Alibaba has become the base of many ecommerce products in terms of distribution.

eBay has sold 1 billion products as of September 2017. Through the years of its growth, the platforms’ product categories have become more and more niche and focused, that is, some products can only be found in eBay.

The relatively young competitor, Tophatter, provides consumers with a lot of new products on the market and lets consumers discover, with their $1 flat open bids, new deals every time they visit.

Winner of “Product Number”: Amazon
Winner of “International Product Coverage”: Alibaba
Winner of “Niche Products and Collectibles”: eBay
Winner of “New Product”: Tophatter

#2: User Experience

Amazon has a clean interface and rigid quality controls for their reviews; thanks to the aggressive expansion throughout its business segments – from cloud services, hardware, AI to offline grocery shopping.

eBay so far suffers a bit from staggering user reviews, though it still has loyal users from its subgroups. Auctioning is still a big feature, but auctions on eBay usually lasts days to weeks.

With 36 million users and operations in 240 countries, Alibaba’s user experience does exactly what it should do: utility – that is making selling and buying online simple and trustworthy.

With 12 million shoppers to date, and 85% of items selling within 90 seconds of being listed on the site, Tophatter offers speedy sales and sends out mobile notifications to notify users with deals and auction statuses. The review system on Tophatter is less regulated, allowing consumers to review and learn about the products they are about to buy.

Winner of “User Interface”: Amazon
Winner of “Auction Speed”: Tophatter
Winner of “Mobile Notifications”: Tophatter

#3: Growth 

Despite having so many business segments, Amazon remains a strong growth curve year over year, with an overall 40% of growth in revenue. Amazon is noticeably a giant in the ecommerce arena.

As of Q3 2017, Alibaba continued to impress shareholders with a sustained period of high growth rate of 56% across all its business segments. With it’s international expansion, we are looking forward to see what Alibaba will bring to the game of ecommerce.

On the other side of the world, eBay is seeing only 4% growth as of Q3 2017.

As an up and coming mobile-first platform, Tophatter brought in 2016 revenue of $53.9 million, with 3-year growth rate of 1,068%. Very impressive!

Winner of “International Growth”: Alibaba
Winner of “User Growth”: Tophatter

As you can see, each ecommerce platform has their strength. Take a look at which marketplace is best for the products you are selling! Choose wisely and the success is just around the corner!

Author: AnyaUp team. Interested in our marketing services? Check them out here!

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Why you should pay attention to this new e-commerce marketplace – Tophatter?

What is Tophatter? 
Unlike Amazon, eBay, and Alibaba, Tophatter is a fast-paced live auction website. Think TV shopping, but in a bidding format, where you sell or you buy what you are looking for in 90 seconds.


​Is Tophatter the place for you? 

We prepared a quick quiz for you, take it to find out.

1. Do you like discovering new products and deals?
2. Do you enjoy the process of shopping? Especially auction?
3. Are you open to trying new brands or products when you shop online?

If you answered “YES” to any of these questions, it means that you are a browser (who browses internet before you buy), or an adventurous shopper, or both. Then Tophatter is the place for you!

So how does Tophatter work? 

Tophatter works in 3 simple steps:

Step 1: A product is posted onto the marketplace by sellers before bidding begins. Interested buyers can receive notifications when the products are open for bids if they <3 the product in advance.

Step 2: Once the auction is open, buyers can place their bids. Each bid extends the auction by 10 seconds, and the whole bidding process usually lasts about 90 seconds. (The clock is always ticking!)

Step 3: The bidding process basically works like any other regular auction – as in the one with the highest bid wins and gets the product – but all products begin with an open bid amount of $1, on Tophatter…which means that there is actually a chance for buyers to buy something for a fraction of its worth, depending on how the bidding game turns out!

What can you find/buy on Tophatter?

Anything and everything! Tophatter’s auction format offers a marketplace and space for growth for many great and curious products.

Any tips for sellers?

If you are selling on Tophatter, know that your clientele consists of people who like excitement, and are quick decision makers. (I mean, a 90-second bidding process?) People who shop on Tophatter like to try new things. So keep your product fresh, unique, and present it in a way that can catch attention (and hearts) right away!

Tophatter is the up-and-coming ecommerce platform, a mixture of eBay and QVC, and is perfect for sellers and entrepreneurs who are looking to grow with a platform, or for shoppers who are looking for an exciting and different shopping experience. Check out Tophatter now and see if it piques your interest! It surely piques ours!

Author: Joey Ho, Marketing Expert at AnyaUp. 

We promote your product.  Follow our Facebook page for more daily tips!

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How Much You Should Spend On Amazon Ad? Find Out In Three Simple Steps


First, why should you advertise on Amazon?

Amazon recently launched Sponsored Product Ad Campaign offering. First, what does Amazon advertising do? Since millions and billions of customers come to Amazon to search and discover products, the ad Amazon offers directly prompt your product to top page, depends on keywords.

For example, below the “lamp” shows up in top results as “sponsored”, which is advertised on Amazon.

As an Amazon seller, this is a great opportunity for you to take advantage of if you haven’t. Needless to say there are tons of Amazon ad credit or coupon flowing around on the internet.

How much you should spend on advertising on Amazon?

​Tons of people have asked us how much to spend on advertising at Amazon, we will help you answer this question, in three simple steps.

Step One: Calculate Profit Ratio

To make it easy, we will use a simple example. Say if you are selling this selfie stick.

So your selling price is $12. It costs you $3 to make it, and you have to pay $5 for other fees including FBA fees and shipping fees.

So your profit is $12-$3-$5 = $4. So your Profit Ratio is $4/$12 = 33%

Step Two: Choose ad keyword and measure ACoS

What is ACoS? ACoS stands for Advertising Cost of Sales , which is the percent of attributed sales spent on advertising. This is calculated by dividing total ad spend by attributed sales. For example, if you spent $4 on advertising resulting in attributed sales of $20, your ACoS would be 20%.

Where do you get that number? Luckily, for each key word you choose for your Amazon ad, Amazon calculates ACoS for you directly, showing below on the right.

Step Three: Compare Profit Ratio with ACoS

So how much should you spend on advertising so you are making more?

The golden rule:

If that keyword’s ACoS is less than your Profit Ratio, the ad based on that keyword is making you money.

Now, here’s the real question is to choose keyword that has lower ACoS. Choosing keyword is both art and derived from experiences, you should keep optimizing the keywords, remove or replace the keywords has higher ACoS compared to profit ratio.

So, in a nutshell, if your ad has lower ACoS, you will always make money when you run ad. As how much you should spend, really the more the merrier! 🙂

Author: AnyaUp Team, Follow us in our Facebook Page for more daily tips! We also help you optimize your Amazon Ad Campaign to make more, you can order our service here.

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4 Ways to Play the SEO and Search Ranking Game on Amazon

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NextAve — Connect With Your Favorite Sales Associates

Check out this brand story we’ve written up for our client NextAve! NextAve is a luxury fashion and beauty ecommerce app. Read more down below:

After working in the ecommerce and marketing field for eight years, Jia Lan, co-founder of NextAve, observed a great need for a platform for communication between customers and their sales associates (SAs).

“Jia came to me,” laughed Michael, the other co-founder of the app, “ saying, We’ve got to do this now, or it’s going to be too late!”

“Yes,” Jia followed, “I saw a great demand and opportunity — because there was no platform for them to do that [communicate] yet. They [SAs and customers] are just using Instagram, Facebook, and Wechat…But these platforms are not designed specifically for this purpose”.

So he went to Michael, with the idea to create together a social, luxury online shopping platform that connects sales associates with customers — a platform that is not purely for transactional purposes but for building relationships between SAs and their clients. They quit their jobs to work fully on building a new kind of personal shopping app that guarantees customers credible and trustworthy SAs, and offers an easy product management system for SAs to create and organize orders — something that the present system of transacting through Instagram, Facebook, and Wechat lacked.

“Another thing — the current way sales associates do outreach is to wait passively in their stores for customers to come. And it is very limited,” observed Jia and Michael. That’s why, NextAve offers customers who are looking to make purchases a targeted place to find credible SAs who are selling exactly what they want. Customers can always return to the same SAs in the future for more purchases if there is chemistry between them.

Founding team of NextAve: Micheal (left) and Jia (right)

Jia and Michael hope to grow NextAve into a major online personal shopping social platform in the next couple years. “We already have a pool of ready-to-buy customers at hand, mostly clients with high-purchasing power. What we are looking for now is a great team of sales associates who can bring real value to customers; not just to bring them good deals, but to know the customers personally. Personal to the point where they know their customers’ skin types, and have the ability to recommend the kind of product that works best for their customers’ skin.

“Our target in the future, on top of having a wide range of luxury SAs on our platform, is to bring in VR [Virtual Reality] technology to NextAve, so customers can experience a “real” shopping experience at the store,” envisioned Jia. “Aside from that, we are planning to set up an analytics team to create transaction reports for SAs to provide them with data to better plan their marketing campaigns.” On top of that, the team at NextAve is also planning to set up customer groups to enhance the social element of the app, so customers can consult with their friends and can shop together.

“NextAve is all about providing the best shopping experience,” concluded Jia.

NextAve is one of its kind as it combines social platform with luxury ecommerce functions. Looking to reach out and make sales with clients who are interested and ready to buy your high-end fashion and beauty products?

Download the NextAve app and start selling with them now!


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How to sell more on Amazon, Alibaba, Tophatter, eBay and Wish

Selling on marketplaces such as AmazoneBayAlibaba

TophatterTaoBaoNextAveGoogle Shopping or Wish?

​Did you know top sellers can make $1M+ per year? And how do they do it?

Here we will provide 6 tips to help you grow faster and sell more.

1. Follow these good practices for positive reviews 

Nowadays customers read reviews before doing anything.

Here we will share some good practices you can follow to gain positive reviews:

When start selling, focus on reviews rather than profit. You can try lower price first for positive reviews.

You can also pick impulse items, create a pleasant shopping experience, in return, customers will give you authentic positive reviews.

2.  Product packaging is important

Use keywords in your product title and description. Keywords come handy not only when customers are searching for the products, also for the “discovery” and “recommendation” features. 

Use clean and simple images. Customers love product pictures with white and simple background, if you would like to put words in the pictures, make sure it looks clean and professional.   

If you would like professional help, AnyaUp provides ecommerce product packaging services to help your polish product listing and boost product ranking here.  

3. Focus is key

Focus is key in any business, especially when you are selling on a marketplace. Focus on simply 1-2 categories, pick your most popular products and use it as your featured product.

Remember, most of the time, your main source of profit comes from your more popular products. Therefore it is very important to focus your effort in promoting and growing those bestsellers.

4. Set a small marketing budget

Advertising not only gets your your store and your products more exposure, but also helps with your SEO. By investing in marketing, such as creating content to promote your products and packaging them with attractive product descriptions, you can drive more traffic to your product listing, and also appear in higher ranking in customers’ search results.

Also, you can look into hiring influencers or micro-influencers. They can create organic videos to promote your store, and use their fame and following to help you sell more. For example, AnyaUp provides influencer marketing service to help you find influencers to market your products for you.

5. Ship quickly

​Shoppers love to receive their items quickly. Sellers that ship quickly tend to have consistently higher product reviews than those who do not.

6. Use free tools to help you sell

​There are amazing free tools out there that can offer you information about online selling. Visit websites like AmazeOwl and JungleScout, to find the best products to sell on Amazon. ​

This post is also available in Chinese here.

Looking to market your store and product to reach more customers? 

Visit our store: or chat with us at

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The 3P’s of Marketing

One fool proof way to market you product/service/business is following the three P’s. The three P’s of marketing are simple, and intuitive enough to follow, and here’s a break down of how you do it:

Create a short and direct PROMISE. Help your prospects see how your product will change their lives. But remember to keep the promise reasonable and not too far out of grasp. We all tend to use hyperbolic language sometimes, and that’s not a problem. But when it comes to making a promise in the marketing front, make a solid promise – something specific and clear that your prospects can see and measure. Most often, your prospects are used to, and most probably are already desensitized to, all claims of how one product will change their lives for the better drastically, or how another service will improve their satisfaction in life immensely. Making a solid and specific promise will help your business stand out from the rest.

PITCH to your prospects why they should use your product, and why they should use it now. I am sure we all have a million reasons to give, as passionate business owners and marketers, on why people should use our products. But simplify it all – boil them down to simple phrases and clear ideas – so that prospects can understand easily. Don’t forget to spice your pitch up with a sense of urgency! It might just be what your prospect need to make the decision sooner, rather than putting it off to later.

When you make the offer, be clear about what that services your PRICE gets your prospects. No one wants any confusion afterwards! You might also consider refreshing your prospects on your promise a little at this last stage to give them that extra encouragement to use your product/service/business.
Throw in a call-to-action at the very end. It may sound silly, but sometimes, prospects need a little push to do what you want them to do. Invite them to place an order with you now, or use your services now.

​Written by Joey Ho. AnyaUp provides services such as express website building and Facebook campaigns services. Check out the express shop here.

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How To Test Your Startup Idea In Three Simple Steps

How To Test Your Startup Idea In Three Simple Steps

Got a startup idea? Or trying to find out which direction to go for your current startup? Great news! We have three simple steps that can save you $$$, and most importantly, months, if not years of your life.

Step One: Build a landing page

Simple enough – assume that your product will be launching soon, build a site that people can visit and sign up.


  • Be simple. Your landing page should be clean and modern-looking.  
  • Have a CTA. Make sure you have Call To Action for your visitors, so they are not wasting their time coming to your site. Your CTA could be a simple “sign up” or “pre-order”. Be creative.​
  • Want it done nice and fast? You can order Anya Up’s express web building service.

Step Two: Run a Facebook campaign 

Know your potential customers already? Run a Facebook campaign, pick a city, choose the age, gender, languages, interests and behaviors of your audience.


  • Spend minimum budget. We suggest starting with $5 a day. 
  • Choose a focus group, one at a time. Pick one focus audience or testing group, one at a time. Don’t try to test everything.
  • Use keywords and the options Facebook provide. For example, if you are a tours and activities company like this one, you can target people “who are traveling” and are interested in “tours”. ​​​​
  • Want professional help to achieve the best result with your budget? Check out Anya Up’s professional Facebook Ad Campaign Management Service.

Step Three: Collect and analyze your data

Now, all you need to do is to see how people are reacting to your “product”. Basically, validating your assumption.


  • Don’t be afraid of failures. Most importantly, you are learning something new and adapting in this practice. 
  • Leverage Google Analytics. Google Analytics is the best tool to track your site traffic from the campaign.
  • Use the data you collected to  navigate your decision making process.    

 “If we have data, let’s look at data. If all we have are opinions, let’s go with mine.”  – Jim Barksdale, CEO of Netscape

Closing remark: 

After going through the above three steps, you will have a pretty good idea whether you should proceed with your project, or try something new. It is the cheapest way to test your assumptions. Remember, assumptions are not facts. Validate and repeat until it is proven a good idea! 

Author: Luke Peng,  CEO of Anya Up. We provide services such as express website building and Facebook campaigns services, check out the express shop here.

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Facebook Page Management: Videos are In

Let’s jump right into the second post of our Facebook Page Management series!

2: Videos are In

It is a no-brainer to post graphics and videos to your page since posts with graphic elements drives 40 times more engagement than their text-only counterparts. In recent years, videos have taken a bigger and bigger part of the pie of social media marketing. Over 500 million hours of videos are watched on Facebook daily.

How can you make your video stand out from the rest?

  • Try creating a square video for your next Facebook video post. 78% of all videos in the screen space currently are square ones.
  • 72 hours of videos are uploaded to Facebook every 60 seconds, so make the first three seconds of your video count! Research has shown that prospects tend to scroll away if nothing peaked their interest in the first three seconds.
  • You might want to consider keeping your video short and concise. According to Adweek, a new marketing trend – the 6-second ad- has recently sprouted in the video marketing arena. Do not underestimate the power of 6 snackable seconds!
  • 85% of all videos on Facebook are watched without sound. Therefore, add captions to your video so viewers who are out and about but forgot their headphones will still pause at your video.

Start posting snackable and captioned videos on your Facebook page and watch clients pour in!

Too busy managing your business?AnyaUp’s got your back! We can help manage all your social media pages for you. Click here to learn more.

By Joey Ho

This short article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.

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Facebook Page Management: Timing Is Key

Another week, another social media marketing series on the AnyaUp blog! This week, we are going over three things to keep in mind when managing and posting on your company Facebook Page.

1: Timing is Key

Posting at the right time can help drive traffic to and increase engagement for your post. Check out CoSchedule’s infographic for the best time for posting:

But of course, every business and their audience have different types of schedules, so do research and find out what’s the best time your group of target audience.

Start posting on your Facebook page at times with highest engagement rates and drive more traffic and following to your brand!


Too busy managing your business?AnyaUp’s got your back! We can help manage all your social media pages for you. Click here to learn more.

By Joey Ho

This short article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.

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Instagram Marketing 101: #Content

Back to our Instagram Marketing 101 series…

3: #Content

Every marketer knows it’s best to keep content fresh and posting regular. But when you are in a rut, when no inspiration comes, consider reposting content from other accounts that are relevant to your brand. Just be sure to credit and tag them for their posts. They will appreciate the publicity, and might do the same for your brand too!

Use interactive hashtags to drive more traffic to your profile. Create hashtags that your followers  can use to tag with when they showcase your products. Also, stay relevant to trending hashtags and tag your posts with them!

Start creating a beautiful Instagram profile for your business today to drive more traffic and following to your brand!

Too busy managing your business?AnyaUp’s got your back! We can help manage all your social media pages for you. Click here to learn more.

By Joey Ho

This article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.

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Instagram Marketing 101: Connect, connect, connect

Back to our Instagram Marketing 101 series…

2: Connect, connect, connect

Not everyone who follows you on Facebook follows you on Instagram, and vice versa. Cross promote your posts on all your social media pages. Ask people who already like your brand on Facebook or Twitter to follow your Instagram account.

Interact with your followers who took the time to leave a comment. Connect with them and build a relationship that will foster brand loyalty.

Also consider including call-to-actions that will prompt your followers to tag their friends, something like “Tag three of your friend who would enjoy this!” Since the tagged friends are introduced to your brand through their friends, they will have less resistance to follow your profile.

Start creating a beautiful Instagram profile for your business today to drive more traffic and following to your brand!

Too busy managing your business?AnyaUp’s got your back! We can help manage all your social media pages for you. Click here to learn more.

By Joey Ho

This article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.


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How BIG is Creative industry?

Human minds are the most wonder of all wonders. The ability to create and the potential to change the world is extremely powerful. Did you know, that Creative industries account for over 7% of the World’s GDP in 2015, and growing at more than 5% year over year?

In this post, let’s take a closer look at Creative industry, and it’s impact.


First, which Creative sector grows the fastest?

According to a study done by NASAA (National Assembly of States Arts Agencies),  the top 3 fastest growing sectors are:  Advertising and marketing; Design (Product, graphic and fashion design) and Production (Film, TV, video, radio and photography).

Among them, Advertising and marketing is quite notable, since we are seeing strong demand from business owners of all sizes that is needing the matching Creative talent to grow their businesses.

Now, how BIG is the impact of Creative industry?

The latest research by ALF Insight shows, every $1 increase in demand for America’s Creative industry generates $1.69 in total output. That means: creative industries contributes 69% of positive economic impact!

Okay, what are the opportunities? 

After interviewing hundreds of business owners from Startup founders, entrepreneurs, online and offline business owners, and Creatives from video producers, writers, photographers, designers, marketers and influencers, we identified the needs a reliable platform to connect with business in needs with matching qualified Creatives, where both side can be presented safe and effective space to grow and flourish.  Therefore, we started AnyaUp, where as business you can create project and as Creative you can take on project. Communications and screening are all included in our platform, streamlining the entire process.

Creative industry is enormous, and only getting bigger. Together, let’s make an impact!

Author: Founder of AnyaUp, Luke Peng.

Interested in learning more about how you can be part of the exciting growth for yourself as a Creative, or your business as an owner? Drop us an email. 


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Instagram Marketing 101: Find your style

In the short seven years since it was founded, Instagram has quickly grown to a platform with 700 million monthly users. As all marketers know, Instagram is great for visuals, and creating a beautiful and consistent grid is essential for hooking new followers in.

AnyaUp has prepared a short series of posts that can help you build a beautiful and interactive Instagram profile. Here’s our tip #1. Stay tuned for more!

1: Find your style

Consider using similar colors (preferably your company colors), filters, tones and saturation. Use coherent graphics or video content that represent the overall culture of your brand. Think about how you’d like your grid to be. Are you going to post mostly informative text-based posts, or photographs of cityscapes?

AnyaUp’s Instagram grid features posts with similar colors, tones, and content.

Think a couple posts ahead what you are going to post, and stay consistent to the story that your brand is trying to tell. Arrangement is also key – do not post very similar photos in a row. Change them up to make your grid interesting.

Start creating a beautiful Instagram profile for your business today to drive more traffic and following to your brand!

Too busy managing your business?AnyaUp’s got your back! We can help manage all your social media pages for you. Click here to learn more.

By Joey Ho

This article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.

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Running Ads? Facebook vs Google vs others, which one should you choose?

Facebook and Google dominants 85% of ad traffic for advertisers, with the rest split between Twitter, LinkedIn, Yahoo, Snapchat and smaller platforms, our customers often asked us which one to choose to for their campaigns and promotions. While there is no one recipe for all, here are some tips to help you make your decision.

#1. What are you promoting?

If it is downloads for your mobile application, chances are that Facebook cost less per download for your app. According to our research, depends on the regions and countries, you can spend less than $0.5 per download in countries outside of the US, or $1~$5 per download in the US, with coastal cities San Francisco and New York City more expensive than others.

Mobile Ad AnyaUp


If it is traffic for your website, Facebook and Google both have pros and cons depends on which industry you are at. For instance, according to a research done in 2017, CPC(Cost per click) for Facebook on average is $1.1 while Google display network is $1.4. However, if you want people to active “search” for your keywords, CPC for Google Search Network is $7. (That in’t cheap! 😅)

What is the difference between Google Display Network and Google Search Network? In a nutshell, Google Display Network is the ads being displayed “passively”, while Google Search Network advertisers are bidding for people’s search “actively”.

#2. Who is your audience? AKA, who are you reaching out to?

Here is a break down:

Google: Great to reach out to people who is actively looking for something and making quick purchase decisions, for example if you are renting out gears and selling some local supplies.

Facebook: Good for social events, brand awareness, especially if you are trying to reach certain network or people who have connections to your network.

LinkedIn:  LinkedIn can target audience based on the job titles, so it is great for recruiters and HR persons, or professional event. Last time we checked, LinkedIn per post promotion is $15+ per lead, so among the most expensive of all so far.

Snapchat: As new comer in the ad games, Snapchat is great if you would like to reach younger demographics or more millennials, or if you are a media company or promoting events or movies, which you can sponsor their “filters” features or pay to run ads during stories. Again, it is currently more used by big brands and quite pricey.

Yahoo: For certain user groups, Yahoo is still where to get their news, such as the industry of Finance, Sports. Also Yahoo is still quite big in Asia, in terms of market shares. So if you have certain needs in terms of specific audience, you can consider Yahoo.

Twitter: According to our and others’ experience, Twitter has poor audience quality, since many accounts are either cooperate accounts or bots, that means it is not “real” people, so we do not advice choosing if you have limited budget for marketing.

There is no one fits for all, so choose wisely and you will have the most cost-effective and best result. If you have any more questions, drop an email  to us, or fill in the contact form below, our marketing specialists, and we will try to get back to you as soon as possible! 😊

[contact-form][contact-field label=’Name’ type=’name’ required=’1’/][contact-field label=’Email’ type=’email’ required=’1’/][contact-field label=’Questions?’ type=’textarea’ required=’1’/][/contact-form]

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How to: Create a Successful Facebook Conversion Campaign

Before you craft the perfect conversion campaign with relevant and persuasive graphics and text copy, it is important to make sure that your campaign is going to the right audience, and to make sure that the success of your campaign is measured, so as to allow you to tailor new and improved campaigns afterwards, to create an even bigger and better crowd of prospective clients.

To begin with, let’s lay out a few basic “what’s what” of a campaign.

An ad is what your audience will see in their feed – your graphics, promotional texts and copies, and URLs.

An ad set can contain several ads, each with its own targeting audiences, budget, schedule, bidding, and placement.

A campaign can contain multiple ad sets with the same campaign objective, for example – awareness, consideration, and conversion, etc.

Now that we got the basics down, we can begin creating our campaign.

1: Set campaign objective

Do you want to raise awareness to your brand? Increase traffic? Conversions? Select the objective you are trying to achieve and try including the objective in the campaign name to allow for easy follow-up.

For the purpose of this article, we will choose to create a conversion campaign.

2: Select conversion pixel

After you’ve named your ad set, select a conversion pixel that you’d like your campaign’s success to be tracked in. A conversion pixel helps you track the amount of clients who have done what you wanted the campaign to achieve – for example, to sign up, to make a purchase, to create a profile, and etc.

Simply measuring link clicks are not enough because having prospective clients reach your designated page doesn’t mean they end up doing what the campaign is set out to do.

3: Define target audience

Next, define your target audience. Select the locations you’d like your campaign to be advertised in, and demographics of target clients, such as age, gender, and language. Select different interests, behaviors, job titles, etc. in the “detailed targeting” tool to narrow down the exact crowd your campaign will be shown to.

You can exclude a certain group of audience, for example, people who already like/follow your company Facebook page, so as to save some unnecessary money spent on increasing brand awareness on people who already know your brand.

4: Set up a campaign budget and schedule

You may choose to spend a certain amount of money per day, which means that once your daily budget limit is reached, your ad will stop showing up on your target audience’s’ newsfeed; or you may choose to spend the total amount you have available to spend on this campaign until the money run out, or until the last day you’ve set for your campaign.

Select how you’d like Facebook to optimize your delivery. Facebook can help display your ad to the right group of people to help you achieve more conversions, link clicks, or impressions.

Voila! The next step is to create killer graphics and text copy of your ad, and then you’re good to go! Click here to read AnyaUp’s previous blog post on the art of crafting a successful Facebook campaign message.


By Joey Ho

This article is crafted by AnyaUp creatives. Interested in knowing more? Check us out here.

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From #passion to #profession: Sam’s journey towards marketing guru on AnyaUp

Sam's Journey On AnyaUp
Sam’s Journey On AnyaUp

In this episode, we sat down with one of our marketing creatives, Sam Grossman to hear his stories with AnyaUp. Sam has grown from a passionate creative to a customer beloved marketing guru with us, we are happy to ask him a few questions and learn about his journey with AnyaUp.  

What is AnyaUp to you(a creative)?

Quickly after being introduced to AnyaUp it became a valuable resource in constantly finding new and exciting projects to take on. Just as it has for me, the AnyaUp platform will allow you to really grow  your personal brand and business. The signup process was clear and easy and within 15 minutes I was ready to seek out my next marketing mission. With the AnyaUp platform I am essentially able to create a portfolio of my previous projects and everything gets formatted in an easy to navigate profile page. Prospective employers have had no difficulty in assessing the type of projects I have completed in the past and determining if my skills are the right fit for the job.

What was life like before AnyaUp?

Before I became a member of AnyaUp it was honestly pretty tough to find the kind of creative marketing work that I really wanted to do. I was very passionate, but also relatively new to the industry so I didn’t have the connections I needed to consistently find work. I was doing whatever it took to keep going on in my contract marketing career; those long hours cold-calling, cold-emailing, and scrolling through dozens of job boards were certainly worth it to do what I love, but it is about the farthest thing from a perk of the job. Without AnyaUp I would still likely be strained to find my next projects and be unable to dedicate as many hours as possible to my actual marketing work..

Why AnyaUp?

As a creative marketer I have always liked getting involved in lots of different really fun and unique projects. One of the best ways to get exposure to so many different projects, companies, and industries was through the world of contract marketing. Going project by project also allowed me to keep a flexible schedule and ensure that I could easily meet my other obligations as a student. While I certainly enjoyed the freedom of short-term, open-ended projects it became tough to actually find projects that I wanted to take on. Most of my business came through referrals from current and past clients, but there were few other resources for finding work. With AnyaUp finding my next great project is no trouble at all!

Sam's Creative Profile on AnyaUp
Sam’s Creative Profile on AnyaUp

What is the value AnyaUp has provided?

In terms of finding projects to take on, that has been a breeze. The way the platform works is that companies will post job listings and include a fair amount of detail as to what their specific projects will entail. This allows me to determine which projects will actually be a good fit for my skillset rather than wasting my time applying to task for, which I don’t have the skills and other candidates would be a better fit. One of the other more personalized features of the platform is that neither the platform nor the business ultimately set my fee. Creatives, such as myself, are able to place bids in to work on projects and companies will then choose the proper combination of price and experience level to ultimately get their best value out of their marketing budgets.

What is some of the work I have done with AnyaUp?

Among my projects, working with the IoT company Corto has been among the most rewarding. We started working closely with Corto during their website and logo redesign, aided in not only growing Corto’s social media presence, but additionally I created marketing videos that would be used both on their website and social media. Here is a link to the video I crafted for Corto. Additionally Corto’s Twitter received a great boost in followers thanks to some adorable animals, babies, and organic marketing magic. The hard work finally pays off, I am happy to see that Corto is growing to become the leading framework in the rapidly growing IoT industry.

Why will I stick with AnyaUp?

Ultimately the AnyaUp platform has become my top resource when it comes to finding contract work. Unlike many other jobs posting websites companies can go onto AnyaUp with a specific purpose. This eliminates much of the waste in the contract employment sector that can frustrate both employers and potential employees. As a creative myself who has used a variety of different jobs boards myself I can legitimately say that AnyaUp has an impressively clean platform that allows me to find the right jobs with the right employers.

What I would suggest to newcomers?

I would urge other creatives to come and join the platform, with more combined creative force it will only bring us more collective opportunity, and allow you the chance to accelerate your own personal business. AnyaUp is easy and clean, unlike websites such as Fiverr or Upwork you the creative are in control. You set your own prices, select your projects, and ultimately get the freedom you need to love your job. However, if I had to give one piece of advice to the newcomers it would be to not be afraid to showcase all of your skills no matter how insignificant they may seem. There are so many different businesses looking for so many different types of marketing that there is always going to be a niche to be filled, hopefully by you!

Want to turn your passion into profession? Sign up on AnyaUp here.

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College Grad Creative Andrea Finds Success on AnyaUp

Just as most of college graduates, Andrea Bausch started as a passionate creative. In this post, we wanted to share with you Andrea (Addie)’s journey with AnyaUp, how did Addie’s life has changed and her creative potential shines on AnyaUp. Hope you enjoy the ride!

AnyaUp Creative Success Stories - Andrea Bausch
AnyaUp Creative Success Stories – Andrea Bausch

So how did you even hear about AnyaUp?

 I have to start a little further back for this one. During college, it honestly took me ages to find my major. In fact, I switched so many times, I graduated a year later than all my friends. When I finally decided to try out marketing, something just clicked. Yeah, I hated the finance classes, and accounting is seriously not my thing, but, passed all that, when it all came down to it, those classes were all worth finally being able to do what I felt I was meant to do.

Unfortunately, shortly before discovering AnyaUp, I was in a dead-end job that my degree had not at all prepared me for: I worked under people who had been there longer than I (everyone), and only got to give input on focus group results. It was not at all what I thought life post-degree would be like. That’s when I saw an ad on Facebook. Yeah I know, how cheesy, but that’s honestly how it happened. Normally ads interrupting my regularly scheduled social media scrolling seriously irritate me, but I saw the words “creative marketing” and I could only think “I wish,” so I clicked.

Why AnyaUp?

That’s a fair question. With all the online resources in the world today (LinkdIn, Career Centers, even Facebook) why AnyaUp?

In my mind, there is no better coming together of everything you need better than AnyaUp. Yeah, LinkedIn lets you list your resume, and link with people you know, but AnyaUp lets you build your portfolio, make money, meet future connections (maybe people you put on your linkedIn!) and make a difference in people’s lives that need your help. This is everything in one place, without compromise. It’s easy, simple, and profitable. It just doesn’t get much better.

Well, what happened next?

I was a little skeptical at first, like this could actually solve any of my real-life problems. Well, I figured why not and went ahead and made my creative profile. It turns out AnyaUp was just what I needed. AnyaUp allowed me to do actual marketing, I created websites, desgined campaigns, even gave business owners advice going forward.

One of my favorite projects of all-time is for a business called HelloLocal. Absolutely awesome business, absolutely awesome people. To put it simply, it’s like Groupon for hotel guests, pretty sweet right? Well, we matched on AnyaUp, and I knew formt he beginning I could do what they needed. They needed some digital marketing campaigning, so I created a video for them. It’s very short, but it gets their basic business outline and potential savings when you use them, across to the viewer.  I’ll put their link at the bottom of this page along with the video I made, if you care to admire it!

Basically, businesses create projects, and I would pick up projects that I really thought I could kick-butt at! All the business I did/do help, are small businesses that have no need to hire giant marketing firms to charge them an arm and a leg for, when people like me could help out on a smaller and more personal scale. I was finally doing what my degree prepared me for.

So what are you up to now?

Now, I have oh so thankfully quit that job, and am continuing to make extra revenue through AnyaUp. The best part is, my portfolio has grown exponentially since AnyaUp, and now I’m able to apply for jobs that I really want, because my qualifications, experience, and references have all taken my resume to the next level. I actually have a job interview for a marketing firm next week (wish me luck)!

Anything else to say?

Of course! My advice to all of you, who have stuck through this to the end, is to just go for it. Firstly, a little extra cash never hurt anyone. Secondly, what could it possibly hurt to put yourself out there? Life is too short to settle, and selling yourself short. You have talent and passion that could help more people than just yourself: businesses are waiting for you.


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AnyaUp Logo Contest Official Guidelines and Rules


In 2016 we launched Anya (now AnyaUp) to accelerate the growth of businesses of all sizes, by connecting companies with skilled marketing professionals. As we’ve grown, we’ve rebranded to AnyaUp to reflect our sole mission: “Relentlessly and fearlessly helping creative talents and businesses of all sizes grow and succeed.”.

In celebration, we are launching a logo contest.

How to Enter the Contest

The contest begins on June 28, 2017. Submissions will be accepted until September 28, 2017. The winner will be announced on our website, social media and through direct contact with the winner. In order for your entry to be reviewed by our judges, all entries must be:

  • Submitted directly to the AnyaUp team at
  • Submitted as original source files, including a high-res PDF, transparent PNGs and vector files.

Logo Requirements

  • Professional: This logo will be featured on our website, social media and other mediums (stationary, pamphlets, t-shirts etc). As a result, while we want the logo to be eye-catching, it must still be legible.
  • Theme: The logo must reflect and promote the theme of AnyaUp: Growth, Growth, and Growth!
  • Color: There are no limitations and any colors may be used. However, your submission should have versions of various colors including black and white.
  • Integrity: Logos cannot contain copyrighted material. Logos must have been created and edited by the contestant(s). Logos may not include images or licensed images that have been previously published. Must be easily reproducible and scalable for large and small formatting.
  • Fun: AnyaUp is all about turning passion and creativity into productivity and results, the logo should be consistent with this philosophy.

Contest Details

The winner will be selected by the AnyaUp team in conjunction with an external creative panel and announced on October 1st, 2017. Contestants agree that AnyaUp may publish their logo and name(s) and may use both for advertising campaigns and/or marketing materials in the future. Contestants assign all ownership rights, including all intellectual property rights of the logo, to AnyaUp.  Additionally, AnyaUp may alter, modify or revise the logo as it sees necessary. AnyaUp reserves the right to not select a winner if, under its sole discretion, no suitable entries are received.


  • Contest winner will receive a $888 cash prize
  • Contest winner will be featured on the AnyaUp creative platform (eternal glory and bragging rights!)

Find out more about AnyaUp at:

Like our Facebook page at:

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A letter to Anya customers, shareholders, family and friends


AnyaUp: Growth, Growth, Growth

Dear Anya customers, shareholders, family and friends,

As you may know, we started as Anya a year ago, with the mission of empowering creatives to help businesses of all sizes grow. Many people have asked me, why Anya? I guess I will just use a quote from Urban Dictionary here:

“Anya: The most amazing, beautiful, intelligent person in the whole world. she will stick by your side and never let you down. Definitely a force to be reckoned with.”

Thanks for the support and the faith of all of you, we have been growing from one location team to an international team, with locations in countries all over the globe and spanning across multiple time zones.

As we grow and expand, moving forward, we will be adopting the new name: AnyaUp, which resonates our company philosophy and reflects our sole mission of why we started this company:

Relentlessly and fearlessly helping creative talents and businesses grow and succeed.

Moving forward, we will have a new home: are looking forward to doing all we can to help your business succeed, and most importantly, your personal success. Stay tuned, let’s #AnyaUp⬆.


Luke Peng

CEO, AnyaUp

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5 Digital Marketing Tips That Will Take Your Business to the Next Level

Digital Marketing Success For Your Business

Digital marketing is the fastest growing set of marketing channels in the business world. Over 80% of businesses plan to increase their digital marketing output over the next 5 years, and digital marketing is also projected to surpass television advertising in terms of marketing dollars spent. Even with all that said digital marketing is still relatively new and can be tricky to navigate. Fear not, here are 5 digital marketing tips that will take your business to the next level.

1. Strong Calls to Action and Catchy Images

If you scroll through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or just about any other website chances are you will come across more ads than you want or can process. That is why it is key that you can genuinely capture the interest of the scrollers-by. Words and phrases such as “Free” “50% off” or “Limited Time Offer” can be attention grabbers that will actually get people to stop, look, and click on your ad. Additionally, strong images can also be a way to get the social media users to take pause. When it comes to images either go with an authentic or over the top look. By genuine I mean to say that you should use images actually people would post. Nothing is more off-putting on social media than when people think they are being forced to interact with robots. In terms of going over the top, it is simply just something that many people may stop to look at such as a bear in armor riding a unicorn. Well, you get the point.

An example of call to action buttons

2. Reviews, Reviews, Reviews

While, the Google’s SEO rankings are a bit of a mystery to everyone who didn’t actually write the algorithm there are a couple proved ways to help boost your Google ranking. Naturally, the ranking is going to be largely based on relevance. Turns out the most relevant companies are the ones that real people have said they have used and loved. Encourage your customers to leave reviews by offering small tokens such as discounts or bonus features in your app. Particularly if you can obtain a mass amount of reviews within just a few days you can really shoot up the Google rankings. Additionally, strong rankings can boost your ever-valuable word of mouth marketing. Even if you are not actually selling a physical product the same logic will apply. People trust other people, so the more positive reviews that we get, it only makes sense that more consumers will follow.

A five-star review on leads to approximately twenty more books sold than a one-star review. – Jonah Berger, Contagious: Why Things Catch On

3. Quality, AND Quantity

Many companies often get caught up in what is the absolutely perfect content to write and share, which can ultimately lead to too much time wasted between posts. One of the most challenging aspects of digital and social marketing is that there is no one formula for what is going to be successful. By keeping a regularly scheduled flow of content your followers will know what and when to expect you to post content that will peak their interest. The steady flow of good, solid, if not perfect content can steadily grow your follower base while you work on creating the next viral internet piece. Take Snapchat for example, while the amount of original content that they generate on a daily basis keeps users active and engaged. On any given day you can find pictures and videos from everything from NBA locker rooms, to a political rally in Washington DC, to everyday users spreading pictures of their puppies. While Snapchat’s content isn’t always perfect there is something for everyone and that keeps users coming back again and again.

Daily Fresh Content by Snapchat: Discovery

4. Do Your Testing, Know Your Audience and Post The Right Content

While the internet is full of opportunity, it can also be a cold and unforgiving place. Before I got into the business world I was a political science major in college and one thing I learned when studying campaigns is that bad news sticks even more strongly than good news. The same formula can certainly be applied when it comes to online marketing. I am sure you Pepsi’s Kendall Jenner ad that was nothing short of a disaster more than you remember Turkish Airlines bringing hundreds of thousands of pounds of food to starving Somalis. Since Pepsi is such a huge corporation it ultimately was able to weather to storm, but for small companies less integrated into society such horrible attempts at marketing can be crippling. While it is alright to have some edge in your posts make sure it does not cross the line into being offensive. Since it is so easy for people to post, comment, and share your bad publicity could spread like wildfire leading to bad PR your company certainly does not need. Therefore, do your testing, know your audience and post the right content.

“Worst Ad Ever”: Kendall Jenner Pepsi Ad

5. Start Marketing as Early as Possible

For any early stage startup the most important make or break question you will have to answer is what is your market fit. Once you have figured that out, awesome! You are on your way to growing your business, if you can answer the follow up question: how to reach your market. The best way to find out what types of messages will best reach your target customer is by old fashioned trial and error. One of the most frequently overlooked tools in a marketer’s utility belt is the A/B Test. As soon as you are even thinking about launching your product you should already be testing out different content on your assumptions on target customers. Be encouraged by positive responses, but also negative ones as well, this just means you now know what not to do. The most successful companies are not always the ones with the best product, instead, the companies that have paying customers before the product even launches. By starting to market early and often you will have right feedbacks and the data set needed to actually capture the right market fit by the time you are ready to launch. As in the book that launched the Lean Startup revolution, Steve Blank suggests the customer feedback loop cycles, which is closely related to the early marketing approach, are the first two steps of epiphany to building a successful business and company. So startup founders and business owners, it is never too early to market your idea and product.


Author: Sam Grossman

This article is curated by our marketing creatives at AnyaUp. For more marketing advice, check out AnyaUp Blog for weekly marketing tips and stories from our experienced marketing professionals.

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Creative Marketing? Done! – A story by AnyaUp Creative

Imagine you are a purveyor of puppies introducing yourself to a new neighborhood, the fabulous up-and-coming Lower North Side.

Legally Blonde – AnyaUp Creative Marketing

First impressions

You know that visual validation with a viral video will capture customers and bring around the barrio. Since the Internet evolved out of the middle ages, it’s been about two things: high quality UI/UX (whatever that is) and high quality content (you’re pretty sure you know what that is). In any case, you know high quality when you see it.

AnyaUp – Creative Marketing

Do it right

But…you’re good at rearing runts and haven’t thought so much about marketing mutts. You have some ideas. You know some people. But, you want to do it “right.”

You have to do everything, but you don’t have to do that

Suddenly a box shows up at the stoop full of the cutest little Samoyed mixes. And, not 5–6 of them in a ratty mini-microwave box, but a dozen — maybe two — in a big, sturdy mini-fridge box. But, you need persuasive content, stat (you’ve got 22 chow-devouring, vaccinated, untrained  Samoyeds to find families for).

AnyaUp – Creative Marketing – Samoyeds

Their cuteness speaks for itself, and you know your services are sublime, but where to begin with marketing? You’re a market newcomer. You aren’t more than a hobby photographer. You’ve never used iMovie. Your business partner knows the ropes around targeting social media posts and can get your posts in front of eager adopters and would-be pup parents throughout the greater zip code area. You need well-designed strategic content. How about a video? Sure. Let’s find someone to record a video.

Personal networks aren’t everything (literally)

So you enlist your brother’s co-worker’s wedding videographer (hint: they got divorced within a year).

“Videographer” is allergic to dogs (not his fault). Street conscripts lure puppies with chocolate bars(!) to run past the camera. “Videographer” takes principal photography with a flip phone (but it’s just principal photography). You record a 10 second pitch under bad yellow lighting, with an old sheet finger painted by a cat as the backdrop. “Videographer” spends the next three weeks color-correcting and the “final draft” comes back tinted green.

It’s late. It’s bad (really). He charged by the (slow, grueling) hour, and apparently you got the “family discount.”

AnyaUp Creative Story

Creative Marketing?

You need effective content, and a strategy that meets you where you are (new neighborhood, new puppies, focused on what you do best) and takes you where you want to be. Marketing. Creative marketing.

No more self-directed films shot by an estranged relative’s co-worker, aka “where’s the flash button?” videographer. Film production. Actors. Designers. Voiceover artists. Interior designers. Painters.

There’s the yellow pages. There’s Google. Time, effort, uncertainty.

You know marketing can’t wait: we all have to market to stay ahead Marketing is hit or miss: there are too many options, crowded with low quality.

AnyaUp, a white glove platform to the industry’s top selection of carefully curated creatives.

Use AnyaUp. Curated, professional, evolved.

Transform your small business. Create identity. Do what you do best, and enlist creatives to present it and complement it. Send that puppy video viral before they become dogs.

AnyaUp Creative Story

Creative marketing? Use AnyaUp. Done.

Author: John Sanzone

This story is crafted by AnyaUp creative. Interested in becoming a creative? Sign up here: